Talk To Me, I'm Yours Forever!

This blog accompany Aliza's SEEDS and Science Kids classes at first 5.

Praising – How to?

on January 28, 2013

First, Let’s look at an interaction in which the mother used a general ineffective praise. What thoughts and feeling did the kid has after such interaction?

Ineffective praise

* I did a good job.

* What did I do good?

* Did mommy paid attention at all?

* What did mommy like about it?

* Does mommy want to talk about my picture more?

* Next time she will say exactly the same?!

Now, observe another kind of interaction in which mommy describe what she see and what she likes about it.

Descriptive praise

* I did a good job!

* Mommy did pay attention.

* I drew some swirls. What are swirls anyway? Mommy said something about the wind…

* What else can I draw so mommy will like and pay attention?…

* I feel good.

See how you can implement this skill in your daily life.

Comment and describe interaction in which you used this skill.

Aliza.

Leave a Reply

