Talk To Me, I'm Yours Forever!

This blog accompany Aliza's SEEDS and Science Kids classes at first 5.

Second Lesson – The parents toolkit

on May 10, 2013

Hi Moms,

Great second lesson. We are learning much more due to the moms’ willingness to share. Thanks!

This lesson was all about simple parental skills that we can adopt to be more connected to our kids and by that enhance their learning capabilities such as exploration, Self worth and knowledge.

First of all we discussed sensitivity. We agreed that listening is a key element to being sensitive. Watch, wait, Listen!

We also talked about Encouragement that may be effective if you relate in your reaction to what the kid is showing you. Also, we mentioned non-verbal messages which are very important.

Another important point is Speaking in your mother tongue to strengthen your connection with the child and allowing him to continue connecting with family outside the United States.

We also mentioned:

  • Running commentary.
  • Promoting conversation.
  • Expanding and extending.
  • Learning while doing.
  • And above all Fun and Laughter.

Now we can self reflect and rate ourselves on those skills:

  • What you are best at at?
  • What skill could you improve?
  • What can you do in order to improve yourself?

Please reply so we could all learn from you.

See you next week,

Aliza.

11 responses to “Second Lesson – The parents toolkit

  1. suchitra says:

    After my second session i came to know from myself is that.. i should encourage more and need to talk with the kids always in positive way. AS a mom I should also analysize what’s going on in their brain.. and what they are thinking about..
    Thanks for giving an opportunity to correct me..

  2. Shameema says:

    I think I am not that bad on those five points, but it’s hard for me to keep my cool when something goes wrong. I think I need to learn how to be more patient. Things are easy in virtual or class room set up, but aren’t easy in real life to apply. So sometimes things become discouraging rather than encouraging. However, I liked the saying that it’s never too late to be a better parent. I want to keep my parenting journey enjoyable all the time.

    • I totally identify with you. Sometimes reality is stronger than my intentions and than I feel guilty!!!
      For the long run what is working for me with being more patient is lots of reflection and learning from different resources. I found out also that talking with other parents about my experiences is helping me be more patient. I discovered that not everyone is willing to share those experiences, therefore I find myself friends that this subject is interesting for them.

  3. tess says:

    i’m prolly best at watch, wait and listen mostly because i’m a bit more easy going than my mother was. i’m less rigid.

    for improvement prolly the second language. i struggled with practicing mandarin growing up in a white/hispanic farm town because kids used to bully and tease me for being chinese. my mother laughing at my chinese didn’t help either. so now i find it difficult to teach my kids mandarin.

    i probably need to ask more questions and pretend play with them more but i have trouble finding time. i think my mother’s influence pops out sometimes and i just jump to criticizing and correcting instead of using questions to help them learn. i can see them get frustrated and unhappy when i flat out tell them they are doing something the wrong way.

    • Julia says:

      I think parenting, like any skill, is something that you get better at with practice! The fact that you are so committed to being a positive parent for your children counts much more, imo, than the occasional slip-ups!

  4. Julia says:

    I don’t really have any parental skills to reflect on, but in terms of promoting conversation with children, I like to challenge myself to a game that I call “infinite questions”. I commit to having a conversation with a child but only allow myself to ask questions, and I have to take the answers as seriously as they are given. It’s always so amazing to me to follow a child’s train of thought. To be taken so completely out of my normal thought process is almost like meditation!

  5. huiwen says:

    After the class, I begin to speak my mother language(Taiwanese) to Raphael and my husband continue speaking Mandarin to Raphael. It’s difficult for both Raphael and I cause we don’t speak or listen to Taiwanese for a long time. Raphael loves animals, so I teach him Taiwanese begin from animals, then food. After 6 days, he knows those animal in Taiwanese but he prefer speak by Mandarin. If I continue to teach him Taiwanese, I believe he can chat with his grandparents by Taiwanese someday.
    Thank you for the class.

    • suchitra says:

      That is really a great jon raphael’s mom. you can make him to watch your language movie or kids story. so that he understands better.. This is what i do for my kid.:)

    • I am so happy to hear that. Keep talking to him in Taiwanese!!!
      They don’t always show they get something. I know many many kids that lives in USA and don’t say or seems to understand a single word in hebrew, but when traveling to Israel or meeting their grandmother, suddenly they understand everything and can even talk.

      • Julia says:

        I totally agree–early exposure makes a big difference. I grew up speaking Mandarin, but rarely get a chance to use it regularly as an adult and find myself becoming less and less comfortable with the language. Even so, whenever I visit China, I become completely fluent again after a few days of immersion. Huiwen, 加油!

Leave a Reply

